One-stop shop for Indian students interested in overseas education Enroll at one of our trusted Uni partners from Australia, US, UK and other countries Call us free on
1 800 103 2581
  • Viewing 4 posts
Are IELTS and TOEFL having difference for the purpose they're taken?Which one is preferable?
Sakura L profile image Sakura L Member Join date: Aug, 2012 Posts: 3 Points: 1
Hi :) I am currently studying in 12th std and I want to pursue my Undergraduate education in a college in USA. I decided to take IELTS but some people told me to take TOEFL instead of IELTS. I am in confusion as to take which of them. Are both the same or any different in the purpose for which they're taken? Which is more suitable for me? Thank You.
  • April 17, 2013

Replies (4)

Biruda Virkud Biruda Virkud Contributor Join date: Mar, 2013 Posts: 39 Points: 480 Trusted Advisor

Dear Sakura 

Both TOEFL and IELTS serve the same purpose establish your language profeciency to apply to universities abroad and test the same four skills Readling listening, writing and speaking , earlier TOEFL was more acceptable in USA and IELTS in other countries like UK , AUS and NZ , CA . You will find a differnce in the accent used in the listentng section for both , in IELTS it is british english that is used 

These days both are accepted by most universities so no worries

You can check the format on www .toefl.org and www.ielts.org and take the test that is easier for you .

hope that helps 

Biruda Virkud | iGrad Global
Hudipta Gabrari profile image Hudipta Gabrari Member Join date: Feb, 2014 Posts: 1 Points: 10

hello!!! i am a 2nd year mechanical engineering student & am planning to go to abroad for my masters. which tests are required to be cleared for studying in USA & UK. I shall be obliged with anykind of help.

Biruda Virkud Biruda Virkud Contributor Join date: Mar, 2013 Posts: 39 Points: 480 Trusted Advisor

Dear Hudipta 

Good to hear from you