One-stop shop for Indian students interested in overseas education Enroll at one of our trusted Uni partners from Australia, US, UK and other countries Call us free on
1 800 103 2581
  • Viewing 5 of 7 posts
Should I study MS in UK or US?
Abhishek Parab Abhishek Parab Member Join date: Sep, 2014 Posts: 2 Points: 10

Respected Sir/Madam,

I am now pusuing my graduation from MU. As I am in 4th year of engineering I wanted to know what is difference between MS and MSc? And why the courses in US is about 2 years and in UK of 1 year? What courses i can apply for after graduation in Information Technology for abroad studies?

My qualification is:

Class 10th - 80%

Diploma in IT - 66% aggre

Degree in IT - 55%(till 3rd year).

• September 14, 2014
  • Preferred qualification: Postgraduate

Replies (7)

Khushboo Gera Khushboo Gera Expert Join date: Aug, 2014 Posts: 87 Points: 1265 Trusted Advisor

Dear Abhishek,

Hope you are fine.

Thanks for the query.

The basic difference between the MS and MSC is of the course title.Most of the universities in USA use the term MS and UK univerities use the term MSc. As far as the curriculum is concerned there is no difference.

USA offers the masters course of duration 2 years where as the same in UK is of 1 year because of the difference in the education system of the two countries. UK universities teach you the same course in 1 year  because of the following reasons

1-UK universities cut down on the vacation part

2-USA universities often provide you internships as a part of the course.

If you compare the course curriculum it will be similar,however,the course is designed in such a manner which makes it more intense in UK.

Course Options:

After completing the bachelors you can look for courses like

1-Masters in Information Technology

2-Information Technology Management(in case you want to get into the management part also)

3-Information Technology project managemnt

4-Computing And Information technology

5-Data Analytics