One-stop shop for Indian students interested in overseas education Enroll at one of our trusted Uni partners from Australia, US, UK and other countries Call us free on
1 800 103 2581
  • Viewing 5 of 17 posts
Can I study Indian law in UK?
Gitika Babbar Gitika Babbar Member Join date: Apr, 2014 Posts: 3 Points: 32

HELLO !! I am an eleventh class student and I really wanted to study abroad. I live in India so I wish to practice law and become a Judge of High Court of Delhi and work for my country. So, I want to know if I can study Indian Law (LLB, LLM) in UK?? What can I do for clearing the entrance exam of the Law colleges in UK ? How can I get maximum scholarships for the same? And I wanted to know the best colleges of Law in UK having all the facilities like the hostel, management or other facilities like sports and games , education system etc.. I also wanted to know if I also have to do some kind of job there for earning a living? 

Thanks

• April 02, 2014
  • Preferred qualification: Undergraduate | Preferred study destination: United Kingdom

Replies (17)

Ruth Lauener profile image Ruth Lauener Contributor Join date: Feb, 2014 Posts: 13 Points: 190 Trusted Advisor

Hi there Gitika,

I work at the University of Sheffield in the UK.  It's always worth checking if the LLB at the University you are interested in is recognised by the Bar Council of India as this will obviously be very important to you.  It's also worth noting that LLB degrees will be 3 years in length in the UK so you will need to do the 2 year Legal Practice Course which any law student studying in the UK would need to qualify.  At Sheffield, for example, our LLB is recognised by the Bar Council of India but some aren't so it's always worth making sure!