University Reviews

Select country

Student reviews

Sort by
Auriane

Auriane

from France

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2020

Foreign Languages Teaching / Training

English, Spanish, Portuguese, and International Relations

State University of New York At New Paltz

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 9 OCT 2019

My experience in SUNY New Patlz

I find this university really great. The centre for international student is really good, everytime I have a question they answer me kindly (even when I still was in France). 
The education here is really good, we have a lot of homework but I think it is for the best. And the professors also are here to help us and show us how to be better and increase our work. But they also help us to think by ourselves which is in my opinion really important.
There are also a lot of activities on campus which is great to know people and to spend time outside the residence. The gym is great, we can access it as much as we want for free so I like this concept. 
Here a met a lot of incredible people from diverse countries around the world so I can best understand other culture and also share mine thanks to all the clubs we can assist.
I really recommend this university if you want to find out who you really are!
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Venkata Sai Kiran

Venkata Sai Kiran

from India

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2022

Electrical Engineering (General)

Computer Engineering

State University of New York At New Paltz

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 9 OCT 2019

Future starts here

I got know this University when some representatives came to India.I interacted with them knowing the possible outcomes after studying in a prestigious University like Suny New Paltz and i understood that it is easy to get a good practical training
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Covadonga

Covadonga

from Spain

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2021

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 9 OCT 2019

Come to SUNY New Paltz

I'm an exchange student from Spain and I love being in New Paltz. Here everyone is really nice and I'm learning a lot in all my different classes. The campus is beautiful and really close to town. All the students are friendly and welcoming. New Paltz makes me feel like home!
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Guiomar

Guiomar

from Spain

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2019

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 9 OCT 2019

SUNY New Paltz

This is a great experience for me. I am from Spain and thanks to the university I am improving my English. Moreover, I find my classes very interesting and I am learning a lot. The professors are very helpful and they encourage me to keep working and learning. That helps me a lot. 
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Patricia

Patricia

from Germany

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2019

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 8 OCT 2019

Unforgettable and valuable experiences

In August 2018 I moved to New Paltz to the State University for a semester abroad. Since then I enjoy my time here very much and am already sad to leave in October. I perceived the university as very well organized and structured. The courses are very interactive and communicative and allow you to get involved and learn a lot. Besides the university, the nature and surroundings are amazingly beautiful in autumn and invite you to go hiking and jogging. The small town is very cute and offers everything a student needs to lead a balanced and fulfilling student life. :) For me, time here is a unique college experience that I can only warmly recommend to anyone. 
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anabel

Anabel

from USA

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2020

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 7 OCT 2019

Review

The university has been a great experience in my opinion. I have learned vast infomation thanks to my academics. I have gotten the opportunity to meet so many people that are my closest friends. I love being in New Paltz it has really become a home to me !
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Claudia

Claudia

from USA

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2020

Psychology (General)

Psychology

State University of New York At New Paltz

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 7 OCT 2019

New paltz, best semester ever

So I am an exchange student from Spain and I love it here. There are many things to do and they are always taking care of us. The classes are great and the professors as well. I wish I could live here forever.
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Madelyn

Madelyn

from USA

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2022

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 7 OCT 2019

Great classes.

Great classes with dedicated professors. Food choices could be much better though. Sodexo shouldn’t be catering so much of the dining options, there should be other choices. Getting different caterers would help diversify the options. 
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Melena

Melena

from USA

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2023

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 7 OCT 2019

Good Experience Given the Conditions

Overall, the experience has been okay. The campus is quite large despite what is said online, for a “small school” there is a surprisingly huge amount of land to cover, so expect a lot of walking. Some professors are distant and don’t seem interested in their lessons, others overwhelm you with homework and classwork. The lack of energy and passion displayed by certain teachers results in their corresponding classes being difficult to get through, as there is no drive or motivation from either teacher or student to push through. The dining hall hours are iffy and close at strange times in the middle of the day, so you’ll have to use your dining dollars if you want to eat before the dining hall reopens. The food in the dining hall is disappointing considering the amount of money being paid for the plan freshmen are required to join. There are constantly flies hovering around the buffet area and the seating area as well. As well, in some dorms there are bugs everywhere, in the showers, sinks, etc. I wish some teachers would be more understanding and considerate of the workload that students are enduring, and also that they would sincerely appreciate the subject they’re being paid to teach. Some classes are overflowing with students and results in an inadequate amount of attention for each student, the rooms are crowded and the class experience is tarnished. Make sure to get an early orientation session so you’re able to have first pick at classes, so you don’t end up stuck in the leftovers toward the end of the orientation sessions. 
All in all, this school is a public state university. The price corresponds with the quality. In the end of the day, you’re getting an education (though the meaning of that word may be different by the time you’re finished) and it’s for a good price, so it’s up to you for how you make of this experience. 
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Aditi

Aditi

from USA

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2019

Electrical Engineering

Masters

State University of New York At New Paltz

USA

3841 Views

WRITTEN ON 7 OCT 2019

SUNY new paltz the right place for the education

I always want to do masters in electrical engineering. When I was looking for the universities there are very few universities which offers electrical engineering with specialization in computer programming. When I was apply for the university I checked the rating of SUNY new paltz in every aspect of website and truly i can’t imagine not a single site gives me rating lower than 4 out of 5. I contact to my seniors they also help me a lot during my journey to come to new paltz. Honestly SUNY new paltz is the place where you enjoy while doing study. SUNY new paltz is the great place for the education. The professor, peoples everything is so helpful and kind.
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects