STUDENT REVIEW

Binghamton University, State University of New York - The Graduate School

USA

2617 Views

THE World Ranking: 501

Overall experience

Admission process

Funding/Scholarships

Study experience

Life experience

Job prospects

100% of reviewers recommend Binghamton University

Are you a current or past student of this university?

If you are studying right now or you have completed your studies, then help future students by sharing your experiences.
Write a review

Student reviews

Sort by
Anonymous

Anonymous

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2014

Computer Science

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 15 NOV 2013

Its just awesome and entirely value for money..!!

The MS in Computer Science is a perfectly tailor made course with many optional subjects. The faculty is just awesome. There is no match for binghamton in entire north east region when it comes to system level courses.

The MS in Computer Science is a perfectly tailor made course with many optional subjects. The faculty is just awesome. There is no match for binghamton in entire north east region when it comes to system level courses.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2015

Electrical Engineering

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 11 NOV 2013

I just love here

As a graduate student in Watson School of Engineering, I am glad that I came to Binghamton.  For the faculty resource, scenery campus and value of the school, I enjoy studying and living here.
First of all, the faculties here are more than willing to help students.  They elaborate on complicated theories introduced in lectures during discussions with students, through which my knowledge of electronic engineering was brought to a new level. 
Secondly, Binghamton has a beautiful campus.  When dining in the Appalachian dining hall in Mountainview Community, you get an amazing view over the entire campus.  Especially in fall, it is the favorite place of many students, including me.  The leaves of trees change colors, ranging from yellow, orange to bright red, which blend very well with the redbrick buildings on campus.
Thirdly, the cost to live in city of Binghamton is considerably affordable for students.  The school ID serves as a ticket to the bus system, so the transportation cost is greatly reduced.  Many restaurants and businesses have special payment plans for students, which also contribute to maintaining the affordability of studying in Binghamton.
Overall, I think studying at Binghamton University is a rewarding experience, and I encourage more students to take advantage of the opportunities here.

As a graduate student in Watson School of Engineering, I am glad that I came to Binghamton. For the faculty resource, scenery campus and value of the school, I enjoy studying and living here. First of all, the faculties here are more than willing to help students. They elaborate on complicated theories introduced in lectures during discussions with students, through which my knowledge of electronic engineering was brought to a new level. Secondly, Binghamton has a beautiful campus. When dining in the Appalachian dining hall in Mountainview Community, you get an amazing view over the entire campus. Especially in fall, it is the favorite place of many students, including me. The leaves of trees change colors, ranging from yellow, orange to bright red, which blend very well with the redbrick buildings on campus. Thirdly, the cost to live in city of Binghamton is considerably affordable for students. The school ID serves as a ticket to the bus system, so the transportation cost is greatly reduced. Many restaurants and businesses have special payment plans for students, which also contribute to maintaining the affordability of studying in Binghamton. Overall, I think studying at Binghamton University is a rewarding experience, and I encourage more students to take advantage of the opportunities here.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2013

Public Administration (MPA)

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 7 NOV 2013

The Best 5-and-a-Half Years of my Life

Binghamton University is called a Public Ivy for a reason.  If you enjoy being challenged by your professors and inspired by your classmates, go there.  If you like to be complacent and just float by, choose another school.  Outside of the classroom, the university has many social events and groups for students.  The cost of living is low.  I gave the job prospects ranking 3/5 only because with the recession in the US, people in my field aren't in terribly high demand, not because of the quality of my education.  The Public Administration department takes great effort to provide support to students in their academic advising and the search for internships.  There's even a study abroad program!  

No matter your program, you can be sure you're getting a quality education at Binghamton University.  I can't imagine studying anywhere else.  

Binghamton University is called a Public Ivy for a reason. If you enjoy being challenged by your professors and inspired by your classmates, go there. If you like to be complacent and just float by, choose another school. Outside of the classroom, the university has many social events and groups for students. The cost of living is low. I gave the job prospects ranking 3/5 only because with the recession in the US, people in my field aren't in terribly high demand, not because of the quality of my education. The Public Administration department takes great effort to provide support to students in their academic advising and the search for internships. There's even a study abroad program! No matter your program, you can be sure you're getting a quality education at Binghamton University. I can't imagine studying anywhere else.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2014

Comparative Literature

Overall experience

4
WRITTEN ON 6 NOV 2013

Professional Connections

I'm now in my first semester as a graduate student at Binghamton University and I am very happy with the program I am enrolled in. The faculty really works for the individual student and helps them finish their degree on time. While the coursework is challenging, they provide great professional connections to businesses especially those in NYC. The cost of tuition and living expenses are relatively low and it is very manageable. I also applied for a position for a graduate assistantship on campus, as there are many opportunities for funding for domestic and international students. 

I'm now in my first semester as a graduate student at Binghamton University and I am very happy with the program I am enrolled in. The faculty really works for the individual student and helps them finish their degree on time. While the coursework is challenging, they provide great professional connections to businesses especially those in NYC. The cost of tuition and living expenses are relatively low and it is very manageable. I also applied for a position for a graduate assistantship on campus, as there are many opportunities for funding for domestic and international students.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2015

MBA

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 4 NOV 2013

An exhilarating journey at Binghamton University

I’ve earned my undergraduate degree in Human Development and currently pursing my MBA from Binghamton University. My journey at Binghamton for the past four years has been absolutely phenomenal. This place has given me the opportunity to develop as a professional and enhance my skills. As an undergrad I was extremely involved in various clubs and organizations and held a lot of leadership positions. As a graduate student I am exposed to real world situations and I am learning how to deal with challenging circumstances. You should consider Binghamton University because it has a vibrant, richly diverse, and engaging campus with more than 250 student clubs and organizations. Here you will have the opportunity to engage in path-breaking graduate education, research, scholarship, and creative activities that shape our world. Forbes magazine recognizes Binghamton as #1 in the northeast U.S. and #4 in the nation for top-starting salaries. School of Management graduates make $10 per $1 spent on tuition at Binghamton. Binghamton University definitely has value for your money as compared to other SUNY or private schools. It offers state of the art amenities and top-notch education at a lower cost while providing finest quality experience. Binghamton University not only welcomes International students but also promotes international student success; retention and cultural integration through outstanding programs and services, while allowing you to acquire the skills and experience you are looking for to boost your career. I consider Binghamton University as my home away from home and if you're looking to be in a diverse, academically challenging, and an exciting place, then you should definitely consider Binghamton University! 

I’ve earned my undergraduate degree in Human Development and currently pursing my MBA from Binghamton University. My journey at Binghamton for the past four years has been absolutely phenomenal. This place has given me the opportunity to develop as a professional and enhance my skills. As an undergrad I was extremely involved in various clubs and organizations and held a lot of leadership positions. As a graduate student I am exposed to real world situations and I am learning how to deal with challenging circumstances. You should consider Binghamton University because it has a vibrant, richly diverse, and engaging campus with more than 250 student clubs and organizations. Here you will have the opportunity to engage in path-breaking graduate education, research, scholarship, and creative activities that shape our world. Forbes magazine recognizes Binghamton as #1 in the northeast U.S. and #4 in the nation for top-starting salaries. School of Management graduates make $10 per $1 spent on tuition at Binghamton. Binghamton University definitely has value for your money as compared to other SUNY or private schools. It offers state of the art amenities and top-notch education at a lower cost while providing finest quality experience. Binghamton University not only welcomes International students but also promotes international student success; retention and cultural integration through outstanding programs and services, while allowing you to acquire the skills and experience you are looking for to boost your career. I consider Binghamton University as my home away from home and if you're looking to be in a diverse, academically challenging, and an exciting place, then you should definitely consider Binghamton University!

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2012

SOM PhD program 'Doctoral Program at School of Management

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 27 SEP 2013

Doctoral Program at School of Management

As a student I recommend the doctoral program in the School of Management because 

of the research conducted here. Some of the students have become student authors in their 

first year by publishing their research papers on major magazines and journals. They have 

worked side by side with faculty to solve problems and discover potential research topics. 

The “Open Door” culture (the doors of professors are almost always open) in the department 

is definitely helpful, in terms of encouraging graduate students to generate discussions with 

their professors and supervisors on recent findings or convey their thoughts in projects. This is 

important in the initial stage of a research project, because it is exactly how some great ideas 

get identified and knowledge is being shared among both parties. 

Besides the academics, the faculty is also supportive to us when it comes to improving 

the experience of being a graduate student in the School of Management. Some faculty have 

had decent years of work experience in the related industry and they are willing to share their 

insights on different business industries and guide students into fields they are interested 

in. The value of students, the ethics and professionalism are highly regarded throughout the 

course of graduate studies here. Therefore I learned how to do things correctly and ethically.

These are not just important aspects when being a successful student, but also very essential 

when I move into other positions and advance in my career.

As a student I recommend the doctoral program in the School of Management because of the research conducted here. Some of the students have become student authors in their first year by publishing their research papers on major magazines and journals. They have worked side by side with faculty to solve problems and discover potential research topics. The “Open Door” culture (the doors of professors are almost always open) in the department is definitely helpful, in terms of encouraging graduate students to generate discussions with their professors and supervisors on recent findings or convey their thoughts in projects. This is important in the initial stage of a research project, because it is exactly how some great ideas get identified and knowledge is being shared among both parties. Besides the academics, the faculty is also supportive to us when it comes to improving the experience of being a graduate student in the School of Management. Some faculty have had decent years of work experience in the related industry and they are willing to share their insights on different business industries and guide students into fields they are interested in. The value of students, the ethics and professionalism are highly regarded throughout the course of graduate studies here. Therefore I learned how to do things correctly and ethically. These are not just important aspects when being a successful student, but also very essential when I move into other positions and advance in my career.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2011

Mathematics

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 27 SEP 2013

Programs to help graduate students at Binghamton University

When I came to Binghamton University Graduate School, I did not feel like I was on 

my own. Binghamton University has different programs to help you become successful both 

academically and professionally. One of them is the NSF-AGEP (National Science Foundation-
Alliances for Graduate Education and the Professoriate) program. It is to help graduate 

students to be acclimated to the graduate school. It is organized by the Graduate Community 

of Scholars and it provides workshops and networks to make the adjustment easier. It exposes 

opportunities and brings awareness of community engagement to the students. What I want 

to highlight is the co-teaching opportunity in the AGEP program. I am currently co-teaching an 

entry level Calculus class with a first-year graduate student. And here is the reverse experience: 

when I am the senior one on the team, I am coaching a new graduate student and help her to 

develop her teaching style. By being a part of this program, I enjoy giving back and introducing 

my past experience to the co-teacher. Binghamton has really shown it to me, and my family, 

that I can be a good teacher and share my skills in mathematics with other people. Without 

this AGEP program here at Binghamton, things wouldn’t have been possible.

When I came to Binghamton University Graduate School, I did not feel like I was on my own. Binghamton University has different programs to help you become successful both academically and professionally. One of them is the NSF-AGEP (National Science Foundation- Alliances for Graduate Education and the Professoriate) program. It is to help graduate students to be acclimated to the graduate school. It is organized by the Graduate Community of Scholars and it provides workshops and networks to make the adjustment easier. It exposes opportunities and brings awareness of community engagement to the students. What I want to highlight is the co-teaching opportunity in the AGEP program. I am currently co-teaching an entry level Calculus class with a first-year graduate student. And here is the reverse experience: when I am the senior one on the team, I am coaching a new graduate student and help her to develop her teaching style. By being a part of this program, I enjoy giving back and introducing my past experience to the co-teacher. Binghamton has really shown it to me, and my family, that I can be a good teacher and share my skills in mathematics with other people. Without this AGEP program here at Binghamton, things wouldn’t have been possible.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2012

Geographical Information Systems

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 27 SEP 2013

Friendship Family Program

Along with quality education, Binghamton University offers a friendship family program by the office of International Student & Scholar Services, in order to help new international students to feel welcomed and to enhance their experience as a new member of the local community.

I was an active participant of the program myself.  I met my friendship family at the end of my orientation on campus and the friendship family was very excited to meet me.  They turned out to be a couple who have been living in Binghamton for almost 3 decades and they truly love this town.  While hanging out with them regularly, I was able to experience the culture of the neighborhood.   The friendship family became more like a mentor to me, who would be there for me, listen and give advice to me when I have questions or feel homesick.  When I told my parents about this program, they were very surprised and really appreciated the assistance that I received from this program.  Therefore I think this program is absolutely a highlight of Binghamton University and I highly recommend it to international applicants who are interested in building a friendship with the locals.

Along with quality education, Binghamton University offers a friendship family program by the office of International Student & Scholar Services, in order to help new international students to feel welcomed and to enhance their experience as a new member of the local community. I was an active participant of the program myself. I met my friendship family at the end of my orientation on campus and the friendship family was very excited to meet me. They turned out to be a couple who have been living in Binghamton for almost 3 decades and they truly love this town. While hanging out with them regularly, I was able to experience the culture of the neighborhood. The friendship family became more like a mentor to me, who would be there for me, listen and give advice to me when I have questions or feel homesick. When I told my parents about this program, they were very surprised and really appreciated the assistance that I received from this program. Therefore I think this program is absolutely a highlight of Binghamton University and I highly recommend it to international applicants who are interested in building a friendship with the locals.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2013

Accounting

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 25 SEP 2013

MS Accounting Program Recommendations

I was a graduate student in the School of Management at Binghamton University and here are the top 3 reasons why I chose Binghamton:

1.	Value- Binghamton Graduate School is able to offer an elite education at fraction of the cost of private schools.  The quality of our education is recognized by employers.  We are the target school of many globally renowned firms (the Big 4 accounting firms, etc) and our alumni network is present not only domestically, but also internationally.
2.	Location- Binghamton University is in close proximity to New York City and other major cities on the east coast, which leads to tremendous research and professional opportunities.  We hold many alumni network events in the metro New York City area including the SUNY FIT Metro Career Night, externship and employer visits on a regular basis.
3.	Diverse Student Body and Faculty- Binghamton University cultivates a global mindset right in the classrooms because of the diversity on both levels. I was able to meet people from all over the world and learned their culture right on this campus.  

I was a graduate student in the School of Management at Binghamton University and here are the top 3 reasons why I chose Binghamton: 1. Value- Binghamton Graduate School is able to offer an elite education at fraction of the cost of private schools. The quality of our education is recognized by employers. We are the target school of many globally renowned firms (the Big 4 accounting firms, etc) and our alumni network is present not only domestically, but also internationally. 2. Location- Binghamton University is in close proximity to New York City and other major cities on the east coast, which leads to tremendous research and professional opportunities. We hold many alumni network events in the metro New York City area including the SUNY FIT Metro Career Night, externship and employer visits on a regular basis. 3. Diverse Student Body and Faculty- Binghamton University cultivates a global mindset right in the classrooms because of the diversity on both levels. I was able to meet people from all over the world and learned their culture right on this campus.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Anonymous

Anonymous

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2014

Financial Economics & German Language and Literature

Overall experience

5
WRITTEN ON 20 SEP 2013

Awesome experience studying at Binghamton University

As a current senior undergraduate student I recommend Binghamton University (State University of New York at Binghamton) to all applicants who would like to pursue a top-notch college experience and want to keep being highly motivated and challenged.
  
I came here without knowing what specific major I was interested in and the advisers in academic advising offices were more than willing to help me plan out my schedule and give recommendations about courses I could be interested in.  After spending 2 years learning the German language, i was awarded a stipend and an opportunity to study abroad in Germany to enhance my proficiency in the language and understand the culture.  It was absolutely a highlight of my undergrad years and the credits were fully accepted here by the school, so I did not have to worry about delaying my graduation or anything.  

The career development center here is also very helpful in terms of preparing students for interviews, job search and internship search.  Rwen, an experienced career adviser, read through my cover letters and resumes with me and helped me fix mistakes and made them sound more qualifying and convincing.  She is one of the dedicated career advisers who work at this school and there are many more that love to help students just like her.

The campus is very diverse-there is always a chance you meet someone from the other end of the world in class, ranging from students to faculty.  I had a class where my professor is a scholar from London and she was very passionate and proud about her culture.  The accepting atmosphere towards various nationalities and backgrounds is definitely an important driver that has kept me here for the past 3 years.

As a current senior undergraduate student I recommend Binghamton University (State University of New York at Binghamton) to all applicants who would like to pursue a top-notch college experience and want to keep being highly motivated and challenged. I came here without knowing what specific major I was interested in and the advisers in academic advising offices were more than willing to help me plan out my schedule and give recommendations about courses I could be interested in. After spending 2 years learning the German language, i was awarded a stipend and an opportunity to study abroad in Germany to enhance my proficiency in the language and understand the culture. It was absolutely a highlight of my undergrad years and the credits were fully accepted here by the school, so I did not have to worry about delaying my graduation or anything. The career development center here is also very helpful in terms of preparing students for interviews, job search and internship search. Rwen, an experienced career adviser, read through my cover letters and resumes with me and helped me fix mistakes and made them sound more qualifying and convincing. She is one of the dedicated career advisers who work at this school and there are many more that love to help students just like her. The campus is very diverse-there is always a chance you meet someone from the other end of the world in class, ranging from students to faculty. I had a class where my professor is a scholar from London and she was very passionate and proud about her culture. The accepting atmosphere towards various nationalities and backgrounds is definitely an important driver that has kept me here for the past 3 years.

Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
  • 1
  • 2