One-stop shop for Indian students interested in overseas education Enroll at one of our trusted Uni partners from Australia, US, UK and other countries Call us free on
1 800 103 2581

Possibility of getting a scholarship

  • Anonymous profile image
  • Anonymous Original poster
  • Preferred qualification: Postgraduate | Preferred study destination: New Zealand
I am hoping to do a PG Diploma or MA in Educational Psychology in NZ but wouldn't be able to afford the fees. Are there full tuition fee waiver scholarships available to international students? My current qualifications are an MA in Counseling from a university in England and a BA from India. My IELTS score is 8.5 overall. Thank you in advance for your response.

Replies (1)

  • Anonymous profile image
  • Anonymous Participant

New Zealand International Scholarships are funded by the New Zealand Government and administered by Education New Zealand. International students in New Zealand are eligible for a wide variety of scholarships through the New Zealand government, educational institutions, foreign governments, and private funding sources.
International students can apply for scholarships, but priority may be given to New Zealand citizens and permanent residents. Awards are available to students in any field of study. The value of the award will vary widely up to a maximum of $10,000.  The amount of funding is determined by the selection committee. Applications must be submitted to the Education New Zealand Scholarships Manager by 1 May and 1 November.
The New Zealand Government offers the following scholarships to candidates of selected developing countries: You have to do research and find from the Universities which scholarship is suitable for you and apply.

1. New Zealand Development Scholarships - The New Zealand Development Scholarships are funded by the New Zealand Aid Program, the New Zealand Government’s overseas aid and development program. They are managed by the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT). Applicants from China, Africa, Asia, Latin America & Caribbean fall under the edibility criteria, you have to search the list of the countries which come under the mentioned places above.

2. Commonwealth Scholarships - Commonwealth Scholarship is offered by Official Development Assistance (ODA). This covers tuition fee, basic living allowance, return airfare, health insurance and some study related expenditure. The scholarship’s length for master and doctorate level is two and four years, respectively. The scholarships are offered for full time courses. Commonwealth Scholarships in New Zealand are administered by Universities New Zealand. Applications normally close in June for study commencing in the following year.

3. Short Term Training Awards – These awards are given for short-term vocational and skills-based training. The awards are available for training in New Zealand for periods ranging from two (2) weeks to a maximum of one year.

4. New Zealand Regional Development Scholarships – These scholarships are for both under-graduate and post-graduate study at a Pacific based tertiary institution, available to candidates from specific countries in the Pacific region.
The scholarships are available for full-time, multi-year study in the undergraduate level or postgraduate level to support for tuition, living costs, and return airfares. Candidates from Cook Islands,  Kiribati,     Niue,      Samoa,       Solomon Islands,       Tonga ,      Tuvalu,      Vanuatu, are eligible for the scholarships.

5. The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards -The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards are funded by the New Zealand Aid Program. Students from Combodo, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Burma, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam are eligible.

6. New Zealand Pacific Scholarships -  New Zealand Pacific Scholarships are funded by the New Zealand Aid Program open to candidates from government, civil society, private business organizations and qualified secondary school leavers to support both undergraduate and postgraduate study.
International student from the following countries are eligible for the scholarship - Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati  Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu & Vanuatu




Add a comment

Make sure your reply/comment follows the community guidelines.

Preview and Submit